These are the albums you should look foward to this spring

Hello spring! This season, we can look forward to warm weather, picnics in the park, and of course, new music. There are a ton of upcoming albums to look out for this spring, but here are just a few of our top picks.


Steve Aoki: Neon Future II (May 12)

DJ Steve Aoki is set to release a follow-up to his 2014 record, Neon Future I. In an interview with Billboard, Aoki explained that even though both albums were actually finished around the same time, II is deeper and more emotional, and has more of the “party songs.” The album includes the single “Darker Than Blood,” featuring Linkin Park. Fun facts: Steve Aoki also worked on Linkin Park’s “reinterpretation album” RECHARGED, and Linkin Park vocalist Mike Shinoda produced II.  It’s also premiering exclusively on MTV, so you can stream it early right here, or check out ‘Darker Than Blood’ below.

A$AP Rocky: At.Long.Last.A$AP (May 12)

Lord Flacko‘s second album, produced by Juicy J, Danger Mouse, A$AP Rocky himself, and the late A$AP Yams. The full track list hasn’t been released, but three singles have already been released, including ‘Everyday,’ with Rod Stewart and Miguel. These aren’t the only features, though; Lykke Li and FKA Twigs will also be providing guest vocals. Watch the video for the first single, ‘Multiply’, right here.


Major Lazer: Peace Is the Mission (June 1)

This is the third album for the cross-genre dream-team of Diplo, Jillionaire, and Walshy Fire. The name-dropping for this one is ridiculous, with features by Ellie Goulding, Machel Montano, 2 Chainz, and more. Remember Diplo’s beef with Lorde a while back? Well they’ve made up, and they co-wrote a song that first premiered on the Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part 1 soundtrack. The album drops a couple months before Major Lazer headlines the annual Mad Decent Block Party, so fans can get a feel for this year’s bangers. Listen to the first single, ‘Lean On,’ with DJ Snake and featuring MØ.


Jamie xx: In Colour (June 1)

You already know him from his band the xx, but Jamie xx is about to drop his debut solo album, In Colour. It’ll feature collabs with bandmate Romy Madley Croft, along with a couple others, including one song with rapper Young Thug and dancehall artist Popcaan. Although there isn’t much new information on the record other than the tracklist and release date, the first two singles dropped together…about a year ago. I know, right? Listen to ‘Girl’ right here.


But wait, there’s more! Here are some honourable mentions that didn’t quite make the cut, but you should still get excited about.


RiFF RAFF: The Peach Panther and The Purple Panther (June 1)

JODY HiGHROLLER has always been ambitious when it comes to dropping albums. Last year’s Neon Icon was originally supposed to drop on the same day as Drake’s Nothing Was The Same. This time, RiFF RAFF is releasing not one, but TWO new records.  According to his Instagram, The Peach Panther and The Purple Panther are completely different. Peach will be a rap album, and Purple will be rock. He hasn’t given us much information yet, but rest assured, there will be new music soon.


Rihanna: TBA (TBA)

With almost no information at all, RiRi’s eighth album is quite a mystery. All we know so far is that It’ll be produced by Kanye West, and ‘FourFiveSeconds,’ ‘Bitch Better Have My Money,’ and ‘American Oxygen’ will all be on it. Watch ‘FourFiveSeconds,’ featuring Kanye West and Paul McCartney below.


Kanye West: SWISH (TBA)

Kanye’s newest album recently got a drastic name change, but even that’s not certain. Frankly, we don’t know much about this one. There’s no full track-list or release date,  but ‘All Day,’ ‘Only One,’ and ‘Wolves’ will be on it. With the first three tracks enlisting some big names (Theophilus London, Sia, Paul McCartney, and Vic Mensa), this is definitely one to look out for. Watch the adorable ‘Only One’ video starring North West right here.


Whose new album are you most excited for?