See the full mtv ema winners list now


Shawn Mendes made Canada proud at this year’s MTV EMA, taking home three awards for Biggest Fans and the highly coveted titles of Best Song and Best Artist.

Beating out heavy hitters like Taylor Swift, Kendrick Lamar, Ed Sheeran, and fellow countryman Justin Bieber, Mendes still managed to stay humble.

“The artists in this category are people I’ve looked up to my entire life and to be nominated with them is a crazy honour,” he said while accepting Best Artist.

Swift lead the nominations with five nods but left empty handed, while Sheeran and Lamar, both nominated for four awards, took home one each, for Best Live and Best Video, respectively.

See the full winners list below and head here to watch the 2017 MTV EMA in full, hosted by Rita Ora and featuring performances by Demi Lovato, Shawn Mendes, Eminem, Kesha, Camila Cabello, Liam Payne and more.

Best Song

Clean Bandit, “Rockabye” f. Sean Paul & Anne-Marie
DJ Khaled, “Wild Thoughts” f. Rihanna, Bryson Tiller
Ed Sheeran, “Shape of You”
Luis Fonsi & Daddy Yankee – “Despacito” (Remix) f. Justin Bieber
Shawn Mendes, “There’s Nothing Holdin’ Me Back” — WINNER

Best Artist

Ariana Grande
Ed Sheeran
Kendrick Lamar
Miley Cyrus
Shawn Mendes — WINNER
Taylor Swift

Best Look

Dua Lipa
Harry Styles
Rita Ora
Taylor Swift

Best New

Dua Lipa — WINNER
Julia Michaels
Rag’n’Bone Man

Best Pop

Camila Cabello — WINNER
Demi Lovato
Miley Cyrus
Shawn Mendes
Taylor Swift

Best Video

Foo Fighters, “Run”
Katy Perry, “Bon Appetit” ft. Migos
Kendrick Lamar, “Humble” — WINNER
Kyle, “iSpy” f. Lil Yachty
Taylor Swift, “Look What You Made Me Do'”

Best Live

Bruno Mars
Ed Sheeran — WINNER

Best Electronic

Calvin Harris
David Guetta — WINNER
Major Lazer
Martin Garrix
The Chainsmokers

Best Rock

Coldplay — WINNER
Foo Fighters
Royal Blood
The Killers

Best Hip Hop

Eminem — WINNER
Kendrick Lamar
Post Malone

Best Alternative

Imagine Dragons
Lana Del Rey
The xx
Thirty Seconds to Mars — WINNER

Biggest Fans

Ariana Grande
Justin Bieber
Katy Perry
Shawn Mendes — WINNER
Taylor Swift

Best Push

Hailee Steinfeld — WINNER
Jon Bellion
Julia Michaels
Kacy Hill
Noah Cyrus
Petite Meller
Rag’n’Bone Man
The Head and The Heart

Global Icon